“Stay open. Who knows? Lightning could strike.”


Before Sunrise

One day in the winter of 2010, I was reading a Porsche magazine in a book store in Roppongi Hills @ Tokyo. “I want it!” I thought. Looking at the price, even a second-hand, it costs a lot (well, of course).

“Why there are so many Porsche running around the Roppongi area?”, I doubted. It is likely that those people run their own business, good investors, or they just used up their life long savings to get one – I don’t want to do that, it is not cool to sacrifice the whole life style for that. Yet, I’m not a good investor, nor even close to an amateur. At last, I decided to invest on myself – go get an MBA!

Just because it is cool.

The MBA Journey

I have been traveling around the globe in these 3 years: Started from Hong Kong, then Shanghai, Singapore, Dubai, Rio de Janeiro, and finished in Manchester. Due to these trips, guess I have spent doubled the tuition fee. Does it worth? Absolutely. No doubt, not even a second.

Getting the degree is one thing; yet what most valuable is to get out from your comfort zone, make friends and work with incredible folks with different culture around the world. Having relationship having no commercial conflict, is just awesome. I have learnt to recognize and respect different culture. People act different than you does not mean wrong. I say, there is no such thing as “common sense”. People raised in countries 10,000 km away from ours share different values from us – of course, come on!

Just get know more people. You seldom have these chances in your life.

After Sunset

Do I still want a Porsche? Positive. Is it what I want the most now? No, it isn’t. Mindset changed unconsciously along the journey. What makes us happy? I think we should ask ourselves. Do something that excites you, makes you feel you have lived the day every night before bed, pushes you move forward with smiles.

So, what’s next? I really like asking this question. Here are my up-and-coming “3Ps”.

  1. Do something good to my body: Personal Training
    I am starting gym and personal training from Jan 2014. I am giving myself 7 months to build up my body before next summer.
  2. Do something good to my mind: Poker
    Inspired by Tony Hsieh, CEO of Zappos, I have started reading poker books, and just finished watching the whole episode of WSOP 2013 Final Table during the year end break, and of course practicing – thanks Yuichiro & Naidie the awesome dudes. Planning to Vegas somewhere in 2014.
  3. Do something good to my professional career: PMO & Business
    I will be leading the PMO and Finance in my organization from the beginning of 2014. Lots of challenges & opportunities. Also thinking to start running my own business. Will see.

I’d like to end this by borrowing what Bill Parrish says in “Meet Joe Black”:

“Stay open. Who knows?  Lightning could strike.”

***

Leave a comment